Yeh Hai Mumbai Meri Jaan (This is Mumbai, My Soul)

image

I am having my annual vacation so I flew to Mumbai, a city in the Indian state of Maharashtra. It is my maternal place.
From the minute you land at the airport, the ‘Mumbai’ feel encaptures you. It is just my third day here today, and I just can’t wait to experience more.
Every time I come to Mumbai, this city never ceases to amaze me. There is something so enchanting every time.

Some may argue, there is just too much noise, too much of people. But then I may retaliate saying, “There is still something so magical about this crowd, about this chaos… that you miss it the minute you leave. You surely would want to return”.

I am not a very people’s person. I absolutely hate crowds. But if you’re hearing something like this about crowds, from an introvert like me, then you know that I’m not talking about something ordinary! Trust me, it is magical. I conclude in the local language of Mumbai, Marathi, as –

Hi kontyahi samanya sthaan naahi,
Hi Mumbai aahe.

(This is not just any ordinary place, this is Mumbai)

2 thoughts on “Yeh Hai Mumbai Meri Jaan (This is Mumbai, My Soul)

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

