The welcome gift! ~

After a day of sick leave from work yesterday, this is what I saw when I arrived at my desk today morning.
image
On asking my colleague, I am told the actual story.

A young girl had come asking for me in my absence yesterday. She din’t know my name, but was willing to describe me using her actions and words.

This is how the conversation unfolded-

Colleague: Yes, dear? Are you looking for something?
Girl: Umm.. yes. Where is she?
Colleague: Who?
Girl: The one who sits on this seat. You know? Um.. she wears black everyday.
Colleague: Ooookay, and?
Girl: She has a cloth around her head.. And she wears a lot of hanging things in her hand..they make a lot of ching ching sound.
Colleague: *laughs* Oh, Shereen?
Girl: Yes yes yes! That one!
Colleague: She is not here today.
Girl: Oh um..okay!

*posts sticky-note on the desk and runs off*

… And yet again, I am reminded of how innocent we are when we are young. This young girl managed to bring a huge smile on my face, and I managed to pass this hectic day WITH that smile. In the process of growing up, maybe we are taking these small pleasures for granted. The lust for a comfortable future is draining us of comfort in the present, and that is a classic example of irony!

Thank you, li’l kid… This sticky-note shall remain on my desk and remind me of my smile every time I feel down.

4 thoughts on “The welcome gift! ~

Add yours

  1. “The lust for a comfortable future is draining us of comfort in the present, and that is a classic example of irony!” … this is so true!!!! i keep telling this to people around and family…no one seems to care anymore!! 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

