And The Award Goes To …

I was invited as a guest at a prize day ceremony, to announce the names of winners of a poetry competition for children.
The winners’ categories were Effort Award, Attainment Award, Special Award, and the GEM Star. The winners for these were announced as I patiently waited for my turn to announce the poetry category.
It was then, that the EMCEE started describing my written work, my poetry and articles. Appearing behind her, on the giant screen was a photograph of mine, along with my work through the hologram.
I was equally surprised and confused. Seeing the screen on stage, I was in complete awe. A chill ran down my spine as I was asked to come on the stage.

NMS Literateur for the year 2015-16
Shereen Mir

(A Literateur is a person who is interested in and knowledgable in poetry and literature)

Wow.
Just wow.
I have no word to describe the feeling.
Amazing it was. Pure amaze and awe.

image

The audience expressed themselves with a thundering applause and whistles, as I walked up the stage. The Chief Guest who handed me my certificate told me this was “extraordinary”. No other winner since the start of the event was lucky enough to experience this, as I was. Predictably for an emotional person, I had tears in my eyes. Tears of joy, of surprise, of every good word one could use.
I thanked him, thanked the vice-principal who was onstage next to him, thanked the audience. We waited there for a photograph and a big smile appeared naturally on my face from one corner of the face to the other. As i descended the stairs to get back to my seat, I was surrounded by fellow staff who were wishing me luck, embracing me and congratulating me. It all looked like a dream to me. It seemed too good to be true!

Right since the beginning of my writing, I have faced rejection as much as I have experienced applause for my work. After all these years of penning down, this was the first.. the first achievement towards my literature.
Laazim, has to just has to be extra special.

With this, it would be unfair if I don’t thank the mastermind behind this surprise. The one who organized it so so well; who managed to keep the surprise hidden from such an impatient person like me; my support system, my guide and my soul sister… Jennifer.
Know, that I consider you in extremely high regard and always will. This is not just for what you did last night but what all you have done for me so far altogether. I thank the Almighty for blessing me with such a lovely person. I know you got my back! Hehe

Alhumdulillah for some special people in my life who have encouraged me to proceed with my dreams and been there with me. All thanks to the Almighty for blessing me with so much. Be it my writing, my accolade, the positive as well as not-so-pleasant inspiration with every incident or person that has shaped my life the way it is, now. All of that makes me who I am. Thank you, each and every bit.

image

6 thoughts on “And The Award Goes To …

Add yours

  1. OMG!!
    You are going to make me cry ^.^
    A talent like yours deserves the world’s applause.
    I truly wish you the best of luck for future achievements.
    And I will always be there in the audience with the loudest clap and the loudest cheer.
    Happy to share another achievement in your life
    Love you loads my sister soulmate :}

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

