The Battle of Two Worlds

I sit here alone, and my thoughts refuse to let me be on my own.
I am in their company, even in solitude.
Some chaos building inside, I predict a storm approaching.

image

As seconds rush,
I think of all joys that I’ve never seen,
Of all the grimace I’d have avoided.
I think of all that could have been,
Of the broken rules which once were abided.

As minutes pass,
I feel a sense of enveloping fear,
Reliving the memories of unmet goals,
Of losing the things which once were dear,
And evading some things like parallel poles.

As hours tick by,
My fears turn into demons at large,
I try to bring an optimist in me,
I try to push those away, Bam!- they barge,
And I am forced to face them unwittingly.

After a constant, long battle between my desires and my reality, my thoughts and myself…. Here I lie exhausted. One night has passed, next one awaits.

image

4 thoughts on “The Battle of Two Worlds

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

