A Lover’s Complaint

Image result for girl letting balloons fly

Is it your will, that my eyes be open
My heavy eyelids, against the fading night
Do you desire, my sleep be broken,
While your shadows come to mock this sight?

Is it your soul, that you send from there
Away from home, to spy on me?
To find my grimace, and emptiness,
My anger, my moods, my jealousy?

Nah, my dear. You’re not so great.
It is my own heart that keeps me awake
My own soul that defeats my sleep
And stays awake for your sake.

For I watch, you are awake elsewhere.
Far off from me, near the others there.

– via @fromlifetoshereen on Instagram

5 thoughts on “A Lover’s Complaint

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

